Blog Image

Schotje's Audio Archives

About the blog

After collecting rock albums, books and rock magazines for over forty years it's about time to open up the archives and put some of my favorite music on the big net. The music here is intended for review purposes only and is not a substitute for the original record company product. Please contact us directly regarding the removal of any potentially infringing material. READERS: Please use us as a buyer's guide and support the artists.

One big family

Music Posted on 21 March 2021 22:40

Long time ago dutch television did an item on the Grateful Dead. VARA TV broadcast an entire episode of their RAPIDO series about the band and their followers. The language is dutch but we are used to subtitles so a lot of the footage is in english too. Please click on the image to watch the video.


Magick Brother, Mystic sister

Music, Uncategorised Posted on 21 March 2021 14:38

The flying pot head pixies got my attention again. While going through the albums on the attic I found this little gem. Never gave it much attention thinking that it was a Gong Compilation album…

But it is actually a 1970 german re-release of the original 1969 album of Daevid Allen and Gilly Smyth with, among others, Didier Malherbe.

It has become quite an collectable item nowadays and i think also because of the nice album cover and artwork of Daevid Allen (see photo’s below).

The top right corner of the frontcover has a cut-out star with the letters “Supergroups” above.


Daevid Allen’s Gong ‎– Magick Brother
Label: Metronome ‎– MLP 15.372, BYG Records ‎– MLP 15.372
Series: Super Groups
Format: Vinyl, LP, Album, Gatefold
Country: Germany – Released: 1970

Recorded September and October, 1969, Studio ETA & Studio Europa Sonor, Paris and first published in 1969 on BYG Records. All tunes by Gilli Smyth.

Early Morning Side

Mystic Sister    (Voice – Tasmin Smyth)   5:54
Change The World  (Bass – D. Gewiffler)  4:09
Glad To Sad To Say     3:45
Chainstone Chant : Pretty Miss Titty   
(Bass – Bare Phillips)     4:49
Fredfish : Hope You Feel OK     4:32

artwork: Daevid Allen
inner cover (a)

Late Night Side

Ego      3:58
(Bass – E. Freeman, Piano – B. Green)
Gongsong     4:10
(Bass – D. Gewiffler, Piano – E. Freeman) 
Princess Dreaming     2:57
(Bass – B. Phillips, Voice – Tasmin Smyth) 
5 & 20 Schoolgirls     4:30
Cos You Got Green Hair     5:06

Artwork: Daevid Allen
inner cover (b)


    Art & Liner Notes – Daevid Allen
    Drums, Tabla – Rachid Houri
    Flute, Saxophone  – Didier Malherbe
    Voice, Guitar, Bass Guitar  –  Daevid Allen
   Voices, Space Whisper – Gilly Smyth